Endorsements for 11/8/16 General Election

The San Juan County Democrats have endorsed the following candidates and ballot measures in the November 8, 2016 general election. Voters will receive their ballots by mail the week of October 17. You are urged to vote for:

  • President/Vice President of the United States – Hillary Clinton & Tim Kaine
  • U.S. Senator – Patty Murray
  • U.S. Representative for 2nd Congressional District – Rick Larsen
  • Governor – Jay Inslee
  • Lt. Governor – Cyrus Habib
  • Secretary of State – Tina Podlodowski
  • State Auditor – Pat McCarthy
  • Attorney General – Bob Ferguson
  • Commissioner of Public Lands – Hilary Franz
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction – Erin Jones
  • Insurance Commissioner – Mike Kreidler
  • State Senator for 40th Legislative District – Kevin Ranker
  • State Representative for 40th Legislative District – Kris Lytton
  • State Representative for 40th Legislative District – Jeff Morris
  • San Juan County Council Residency District #1 – Bill Watson
  • Supreme Court Justice Position #1 – Mary Yu
  • Supreme Court Justice Position #5 – Barbara Madsen
  • Supreme Court Justice Position #6 – Charlie Wiggins

Vote “Yes” for:

  • Initiative Measure No. 1433 – Increases state minimum wage, requires employers to provide paid sick leave, etc.
  • Initiative Measure No. 1464 – Concerns campaign finance laws and lobbyists. Gives each voter three $50 vouchers to donate to state legislative candidates. Lobbyists limited to $100 donation to any candidate whom they may lobby in future. Bars elected officials and public employees from becoming lobbyists for three years after leaving office.
  • Initiative Measure No. 1491 – Allows police, family, or household members to obtain court orders temporarily preventing firearms access by persons exhibiting mental illness, violent or other behavior indicating they may harm themselves or others.
  • Initiative Measure No. 1501 – Increases the penalties for criminal identify theft and civil consumer fraud targeted at seniors or vulnerable individuals, etc.
  • Initiative Measure No. 732 – Imposes a carbon emission tax on certain fossil fuels and fossil-fuel-generated electricity, reduces the sales tax by one percent, increases a low-income exemption, etc.
  • Initiative Measure No. 735 – Urges the Washington State congressional delegation to propose a federal constitutional amendment that constitutional rights belong only to individuals, not corporations, and constitutionally-protected free speech excludes the spending of money, thereby overturning the Supreme Court’s Citizens United decision.

Vote “Maintained” For:

  • Advisory Vote No. 14/House Bill 2768 – To maintain or repeal an insurance premium tax previously approved by the legislature for some stand-alone family dental plans.
  • Advisory Vote No. 15/Second Engrossed Substitute House Bill 2778 – To maintain or repeal certain limitations on the retail sales and use tax exemptions previously approved by the legislature for clean alternative-fuel vehicles.

Vote “Approved” For:

  • Senate Joint Resolution No. 8210 – Requests the voting public to approve a state constitutional amendment previously approved by the legislature concerning state legislative and congressional redistricting. This amendment would require the state redistricting commission to complete redistricting for state legislative and federal congressional districts by November 15 of each year ending in a one, 46 days earlier than currently required. 

Report on Quarterly Meeting on 7/9/16

The San Juan County Democrats are pleased to announce that at our meeting on July 9, we voted unanimously to endorse the following candidates in the August 2 primary election:

Patty Murray for U.S. Senator.

Kevin Ranker for State Senator for the 40th Legislative District.

Kris Lytton for State Representative, Position #1, for the 40th Legislative District.

Jeff Morris for State Representative, Position #2, for the 40th Legislative District.

Due to time limitations, we temporarily suspended the meeting without finalizing our consideration of other endorsements. For that reason, the meeting will resume on Saturday, July 23 on the inter-island ferry to consider other endorsements and to complete the remaining agenda from July 9. Democrats and independents are welcome to attend by boarding the inter-island ferry leaving that morning at 8:30 am from Friday Harbor, 9:15 am from Orcas, 9:30 am from Shaw, and 9:50 am from Lopez. The actual meeting will start at 10:00 am once members have boarded from Lopez, and end at 11:15 am when members disembark in Friday Harbor.

Press Release 08/10/2015

In response to her request for endorsement, the San Juan County Democrats have decided to endorse the candidacy of Monica Harrington for Position #3 on the board of commissioners of San Juan County Public Hospital District #1 in the general election on November 3, 2015. Hospital District #1 consists of the following islands: San Juan, Brown, Henry, Johns, Pearl, Spieden, and Stuart. Only registered voters of these islands are eligible to vote.

We urge the registered voters of Hospital District #1 to support Ms. Harrington by voting for her in the general election on November 3.

The board of Hospital District #1 is primarily responsible for assuring that the public tax money it receives from the two levies that are its sole source of funds are used to serve the best interests of our entire community in an effective, transparent, and accountable manner. This responsibility includes ensuring compliance with Washington State’s Reproductive Privacy Act and Death With Dignity Act, both of which San Juan County voters overwhelmingly approved.

We believe noncompliance with either of these acts undermines the will of the voters and puts the district at risk of legal action. Ms. Harrington has the business background, knowledge of State health law, and commitment to the public interest to help assure that Hospital District #1 fully complies with its responsibilities.

The San Juan County Democrats also urge the election of other hospital district candidates in November who support our state’s Reproductive Privacy Act and Death with Dignity Act.


Press Release 10/14/14

The San Juan County Democrats have announced results of the party’s first ever vote by email on motions to endorse certain candidates and measures in the elections on November 4, 2014.

As a result of this vote, a Yes vote is endorsed on the following:

  • Jamie Stephens for San Juan County Council Position #3 (Lopez).
  • Randy Gaylord for San Juan County Prosecuting Attorney.
  • Kristine Lytton for Washington State Representative Position #1 from 40th Legislative District.
  • Rick Larsen for Congressional Representative from Washington District #2.
  • San Juan County Proposition #1 – Six-year lid lift levy.
  • San Juan County Hospital District #1 – Continuation of levy for emergency medical services.
  • State Initiative Measure #594 – Concerns background checks for firearm sales and transfers.
  • State Initiative Measure #1351 – Concerns K-12 education.

A No vote is endorsed on:

  • State Initiative Measure #591 – Concerns firearms.

Only those candidates who requested endorsement were eligible for this vote, including candidates running unopposed.

Whatever your position on these measures, registered voters in San Juan County are urged to vote on or before November 4. Votes can be cast only via mail-in ballot.

Any questions should be directed to David Dehlendorf, Chair, San Juan County Democrats, at 378-1082.

Comments are closed.